Prompt 69, 70

Pages 473-509

I feel like reading this book, so far, has really helped me understand what Germans lives during the Holocaust was like. Many people were poor and had to steal from others. For example, Liesel and Rudy steal food so they’re not starving. Many people were also in a depression from all of the deaths that were happening around them. Frau Holtzapfel, one of Liesel’s neighbors on Himmel a Street, son killed himself because he couldn’t bear living in Germany with the war going on. This was Frau Holtzapfel’s second son that died in the span of six months. This book has changed me because now I know that not all of the Germans lives were grea during the Holocaust. I didn’t know that many of them were depressed and scared for their lives. I understand now that even though Germany had a lot of power during World War II, many people’s lives.

Leave a Reply